***************************

When I Turned One-and-Seventy

***************************

When I turned one-and-seventy

I heard some wise folks say,

“Give time and aid and speeches,

But don’t tweet every day;

Give hats away and handshakes

But keep the healthcare free.”

But I am one-and-seventy,

No use to talk to me.

 

When I turned one-and-seventy,

I heard them say again,

“Supporters will disown you,

You treat them with disdain;

They’ll all unite resisting

A man without a clue.”

But I am one-and-seventy,

And I don’t care what’s true.

 

[Note: Please click here to read A. E. Houseman’s “When I Was One-and-Twenty”]

Leave a Reply

